John Giordano, chairman of the jury for the Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition (taking place May 24-June 9, 2013, at Bass Performance Hall Fort Worth, Texas) announced the 12 pianists advancing to the Semifinal Round.

The semifinalists are:

Nikita Abrosimov, 24, Russia

Sean Chen, 24, United States

Alexey Chernov, 30, Russia

Alessandro Deljavan, 26, Italy

Fei-Fei Dong, 22, China

Jayson Gillham, 26, Australia/United Kingdom

Claire Huangci, 23, United States

Vadym Kholodenko, 26, Ukraine

Nikolay Khozyainov, 20, Russia

Nikita Mndoyants, 24, Russia

Beatrice Rana, 20, Italy

Tomoki Sakata, 19, Japan

At the end of the Semifinal Round performances, six competitors will be chosen to advance to the Final Round, which will run June 6-9. The finalists will be announced late in the evening on June 4.

In the Semifinal Round, each of the 12 competitors will perform twice. They will play a recital not to exceed 60 minutes in length; the program will consist of works chosen by the pianist, but must include the Cliburn-commissioned work by contemporary composer Christopher Theofanidis. Every pianist will also perform a piano quintet with the Brentano String Quartet chosen from works by Brahms, Dvorák, Franck, and Schumann.

Maestro John Giordano (United States) is serving as chairman of the jury for his eleventh competition since he assumed the post in 1973. Other jury members include: Dmitri Alexeev (Russia), Michel Beroff (France), Andrea Bonatta (Italy), Richard Dyer (United States), Joseph Kalichstein (Israel), Yoheved Kaplinsky (Israel), Liu Shih Kun (China), Minoru Nojima (Japan), Menahem Pressler (United States), Blanca Uribe (Colombia), Arie Vardi (Israel), and Xian Zhang (China).

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives