The Queen Elisabeth Competition has announced the 24 semi-finalists, among them eight sopranos, six mezzo-sopranos, one alto, three tenors, four baritones, and two basses. From the nine male candidates all but one are Korean, while among the female singers no Korean is listed.
Fleuranne Brockway, mezzo-soprano
Linsey Coppens, mezzo-soprano
Margaux de Valensart, soprano
Daniel Gwon, baritone
Floriane Hasler, mezzo-soprano
Junho Hwang, tenore
Daegyun Jeong, baritone
Inho Jeong, bass
Lubov Karetnikova, soprano
Sungho Kim, tenor
Taehan Kim, baritone
Junoh Lee, basso
Marie Lombard, soprano
Alexandra Lowe, soprano
Juliette Mey, mezzo-soprano
Julia Muzychenko-Greenhalgh, soprano
Anna-Sophie Neher, soprano
Mathilde Ortscheidt, mezzo-soprano
Joseph Parrish, baritone
Carole-Anne Roussel, soprano
Sílvia Sequeira, soprano
Jihoon Son, tenor
Maria Warenberg, mezzo-soprano
Jasmin White, contralto

Semi-finals will take place at Studio 4, Flagey, Wednesday 24 and Thursday 25 May, at 3 pm and 8 pm. At each session, six different semi-finalists will perform with piano accompaniment. Each semi-finalist will play the recital program chosen by the jury from the two programs proposed by the candidate. The performances are broadcast live and on demand on the competition’s website, and on Belgian national radio and television.

In the semi-final, the jury members are: Bernard Foccroulle (Chairman), June Anderson, Peter de Caluwe, Helmut Deutsch, Serge Dorny, Bernarda Fink, Jonathan Friend, Sumi Jo, Patricia Petibon, Christoph Prégardien, José Van Dam and Evamaria Wieser.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives