Guido Cantelli
(c) Douglas Glass/Warner

A new Honorary Artistic Committee has been added to the jurors of the Guido Cantelli International Conducting Competition. Members of the Honorary Committee are winners from the competition’s past editions: next to Riccardo Muti, who won in 1967 when he was only twenty-six, are Israeli conductor Eliahu Inbal, prized in 1963, Adam Fischer and Lothar Zagrosek, ex aequo in 1973.

After a forty-year pause, the Competition is now presented again thanks to the efforts made by the Teatro Coccia di Novara to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Cantelli’s birth, on Monday 27 April 2020. The conductor died tragically at the age of thirty-five on the night between 23 and 24 November 1956 in a plane crash in Orly, France, only days after being nominated Principal Conductor of the Teatro alla Scala. Five years later, to honour his memory, a prize was created, and the competition ran until 1980.

Due to the Covid-19 emergency, the final day for registration to the competition has been postponed to Friday 15 May. The names of those admitted to the competition will be released on 17 June.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives