In 2020, the Dutch Music Award will be awarded for the first time to a percussionist. After his performance at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam on January 18, Dominique Vleeshouwers will receive the award from Dutch Minister of Cultural Affairs.

The Dutch Music Award is the highest accolade granted by the Dutch government to young classical musicians. Previous winners include violinists Janine Jansen and Liza Ferschtman, cellists Pieter Wispelwey and Quirine Viersen, singers Jard van Nes and Christianne Stotijn, and pianists Ronald Brautigam and Hannes Minnaar.

Even though the Dutch Music Award is specifically for classical musicians, Dominique Vleeshouwers is someone who in a completely natural way builds bridges between genres and disciplines. From hip hop to Beethoven and switching between percussion languages from all over the world. During the trajectory for the Dutch Music Award, Dominique travelled to Senegal and Japan, studied tabla, all in search of new ways of communication via percussion.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives