The Kodaly Philharmonic
© Peter Biri Photo

The second edition of the Kodály Conducting Competition is currently taking place in Debrecen, Hungary’s second largest city, with the Kodaly Philharmonic and the Kodaly Choir. The jury announced yesterday evening the 12 candidates having been admitted to the second round. This jury, chaired by Jorma Panula includes Janos Acs, Peter Broadbent, Remy Franck, Zsolt Hamar, Oksana Madarash and Imre Kollar.

The jury includes, from the left, Janos Acs, Peter Broadbent, Remy Franck, Jorma Panula, Zsolt Hamar, Imre Kollar and Oksana Madarash
© Peter Biri Photo

Here are the candidates:

Tal BENATAR, USA/Israel, 1993
Alexander Sinan BINDER, Germany, 1990
Marcell DÉNES-WOROWSKI, Hungary, 1990
William DUTTON, United Kingdom, 1995
Dániel ERDÉLYI, Hungary, 1988
Mateusz GWIZDALLA, Australia/Poland, 1993
Jiří HABART, Czech Republic, 1992
Maximilian OTTO, Germany, 1998
Filip PALUCHOWSKI, Germany/Poland, 1989
Omer SHTEINHART, Israel, 1995
Eric STAIGER, Germany, 1996
Toby THATCHER. Australia/United Kingdom, 1989

Jury chair Jorma Panula (r.) and Remy Franck
(c) Lóránt Kiss

The Kodaly Philharmonic
© Peter Biri Photo

The competition is organized by the Kodaly Philharmonic, the Jeunesses Musicales Hungary and the media platform Papageno.

The competition can be followed in the streams:

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives