Julio Garcia Vico
(c) Laura Cohen

Julio Garcia Vico (*1992, Spain) has won the German Conductors Award 2019 (Deutscher Dirigentenpreis) organised by the German Music Council (Deutscher Musikrat) in Cologne. Vico was also awarded the Audience Prize.

Gabor Hontvari (*1993, Hungary) won Second Prize. The Third Prize went to Chloé van Soeterstède, (*1988, France) who won also the Bärenreiter Special Prize, awarded for the best interpretation of a work composed in the 20th/21st century

The First Prize is endowed with a prize money of € 15,000 and engagements with several German orchestras.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives