Luzerner Sinfonieorchester
(c) Vera Hartmann

The Lucerne Symphony Orchestra is performing ICMA’s Gala Concert 2019 tomorrow, 10 April, at the iconic concert hall KKL in Lucerne. The concert will be conducted by Lawrence Foster, as well as by Leif Segerstam, Music Director of the Turku Philharmonic with which he won an award in the Best Collection category.

Lawrence Foster
(c) Bruno Fidrych

The concert will also feature other ICMA winners form the 2019 roster, Nelson Freire, Lifetime Achievement Award, (« who always impresses with his artistic seriousness and depth), Javier Perianes, Artist of the Year (« a highly inspired and sensitive pianist who fascinates with an incredibly rich and always lyrical piano sound »), Matko Smolcic, Young Artist of the Year (« With his sensuous, warm and at the same time intensely communicative sound he brings nobility to his instrument »), Eva Gevorgyan, Discovery Award winner (« …bright emotional eloquence and impeccable technique »), Orchestra Award winner Stephen Waarts as well as winners from the various CD categories like Tabea Zimmermann, Denes Varjon, Chouchane Siranossian, Christoph Heesch and Russian soprano Albina Shagimuratova.

Here is the program of the concert which will be broadcast by the Swiss Radio, as well as by the member radios of the ICMA Jury:

Georges Bizet: L’Arlésienne, Suite No.1 (I. Prélude)
Johannes Brahms, Double Concerto op. 102, (3d mvt.)
Chouchane Siranossian, violin, Christoph Heesch, cello
Carl Maria von Weber: Bassoon Concerto op. 75, (2d & 3d mvts.)
Matko Smolcic, bassoon
Gioacchino Rossini: Bel raggio lusinghier, from Semiramide
Albina Shagimuratova, soprano
Georges Bizet, L’Arlésienne, Suite No. 1 (II. Minuetto)
Pablo de Sarasate: Carmen-Fantasie op. 25 for violin and orchestra
Stephen Waarts, violin

Edward Grieg: Piano Concerto op. 16, (1st mvt)
Javier Perianes, piano
Frédéric Chopin: Barcarolle op. 60
Nelson Freire, piano
Robert Schumann: Märchenbilder for piano and viola op. 113
Tabea Zimmermann, viola, Denes Varjon, piano
Camille Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2 op. 22, (3d mvt.)
Eva Gevorgyan, piano
Jean Sibelius: Valse triste from Kuolema op. 44
Leif Segerstam, conductor
Georges Bizet: L’Arlésienne, Suite No. 1 (IV. Carillon)

Luzerner Sinfonieorchester
Lawrence Foster, conductor

KKL Luzern
(c) Urs Wyss / KKL

Prior to the concert, ICMA President Remy Franck will present the Award Ceremony at the KKL Auditorium, where well over 100 Jury members, ICMA winners, label and industry representatives will attend the event which will be musically enriched by young three musicians. Zofia Neugebauer and Andrea Cellacchi will perform the Sonatine for Flute and Bassoon by French composer Pierre Gabaye (1930-2000). Both are musicians of the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra. 15-year-old German cellist Philipp Schupelius will perform György Ligeti’s Sonata for cello solo.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives