The Jury has announced four finalists for the Composition Prize 2015, dedicated to the String Quartet. Their works will be performed as world premiere during the public final on Sunday 8 November at the Studio Ansermet (RTS) in Geneva.

The official Jury, Pascal Dusapin, Luca Francesconi, Dai Fujikura and Wolfgang Rihm, chaired by Swiss composer Michael Jarrell, has communicated the first results for the Geneva International Music Competition’s 2015 Composition Prize: 4 candidates were selected amongst the 109 applications received from around the world (39 countries, 81 men/28 women, aged 16-39 years) to pursue to the final round:

‘Moment étincelant’ by Sunghyun Lee, South Korea, 20 years old
‘Onis ex tempore’ by Adérito Valente, Portugal, 35 years old
‘g2015sq’ by Schoichi Yabuta, Japan, 32 years old
‘Klangfoto’ by Hankyeol Yoon, South Korea, 21 years old

The composition final concert will mark the opening of the 2nd edition of the Laureates Festival, which takes place from 8 – 15 November 2015.

Competition rules, biographies and more information on

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives