Chopin Monument Zelazova-Wola
Photo: Remy Franck

The jury of the 17th International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw has announced the names of ten finalists. Pianists from eight countries will compete: two Americans of Asian descent (Kate Liu and Eric Lu), two Canadians (Tony Yang and Charles Richard Hamelin) and participants from Poland (Szymon Nehring), Russia (Dmitry Shishkin), Croatia (Aljosa Jurinic), Japan (Aimi Kobayashi), Latvia (Georgijs Osokins) and South Korea (Seong-Jin Cho). The finals start this Sunday. The winners will be announced on Tuesday.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives