The ten-year Award Ceremony and Gala concert in Seville, on April 30th at 8 pm at the Teatro de la Maestranza, will be one of the richest, most diverse and colourful in the ICMA history, with one of the most impressive line-ups of musicians ever.

Hosted by the Royal Symphony Orchestra of Seville and American conductor John Axelrod, the concert will feature Elisabeth Leonskaja, Lifetime Achievement Award, Marina Rebeka, Artist of the Year, Erica Piccotti, Young Artist of the Year as well as 16-year-old cellist Philipp Schupelius, Discovery Award 2020. John Axelrod, winner of a Special Achievement Award is conducting his third ICMA Gala.

A number of other winners from various award categories will play and sing: guitarist Pepe Romero, recorder player Dorothee Oberlinger, pianists Can Çakmur, Kirill Gerstein and Cédric Tiberghien as well as tenor İlker Arcaryürek. And last not least, the audience will be able to attend the world premiere of a new work by the Composer Award winning Luxembourgish-Spanish musician Ivan Boumans, Organic Beat!

ICMA President Remy Franck says: « Ten years is an anniversary asking for a birthday cake. For the International Classical Music Awards, it will ideally be a grand birthday concert in form of our annual Gala, honouring the ICMA winners. With an incredible line-up of celebrated artists and young musicians at the beginning of their career, this concert is a brilliant display of the creative energy, passion, talent and dedication of the entire music industry. With the excellent Royal Symphony Orchestra of Seville and conductor John Axelrod we have committed hosts for one of the most hotly anticipated musical events of the year. It’s a night not to be missed, live in Seville or later in broadcasts of radio stations all over Europe and Russia ».

Real Orquesta Sinfónica de Sevilla (ROSS)
John Axelrod

ROSS – Manuel de Falla: Danza Española No. 1 (La vida breve)

Marina REBEKA – Giuseppe Verdi: I Vespri Siciliani / Bolero: Mercé, dilette amiche (Act 5)

Elisabeth LEONSKAJA – Wolfgang A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 9 (Jeunehomme/Jenamy), K. 271 – III. Rondo (Presto)

Cédric TIBERGHIEN – Wolfgang A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20, K. 466, III. Rondo (Allegro assai)

Can CAKMUR – Robert Schumann: Piano Concerto op. 54, I. Allegro affettuoso

Kirill GERSTEIN – Maurice Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major, II. Adagio assai, III. Presto


Dorothee OBERLINGER – Antonio Vivaldi: Flute Concerto in G minor, RV 439

İlker ARCAYÜREK – Wolfgang A. Mozart: Così fan tutte / Un’aura amorosa (Ferrando, Act 1)

Erica PICCOTTI – Joseph Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, Hob.VIIb:1, II. Adagio, III. Allegro molto

Philipp SCHUPELIUS  – Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto, Op. 85, I. Adagio-Moderato, II. Lento-Allegro molto

Ivan BOUMANS:   Organic Beats (World premiere)

Pepe ROMERO – Celedonio Romero/Federico Moreno Torroba: Concierto de Málaga for guitar and orchestra, II. Andante-Allegretto, III. Tangos y Tientos


  • Pizzicato

  • Archives