Bertie Baigent
© Marije Schot

The Rotterdam International Conducting Competition has announced the winners of the 2022 edition. The Grand Prize and €15,000 was awarded to Bertie Baigent while the audience award went to Chilean conductor Luis Toro Araya.

There were also winners for each of the rounds of the competition:

Proms Round Award: Martijn Dendievel (Belgium)
Contemporary Round Award: Chloe Rooke (United Kingdom)
Classical Round Round: Bertie Baigent (United Kingdom)
Opera Round: Luis Toro Araya (Chile)
Symphony Round: Bertie Baigent (United Kingdom)

Bertie Baigent trained as a cellist, pianist, and organist, before reading music at the University of Cambridge, graduating with a double first in 2016. Subsequently he studied conducting with Sian Edwards and composition with Patrick Nunn at the Royal Academy of Music where he graduated with distinction and the DipRAM award in 2018, also winning the the Ernest Read Prize and the Sir Henry Wood Scholarship. Music Director of Waterperry Opera Festival since 2017, he was recently appointed an Assistant Conductor with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives