Igor Levit
(c) Felix Broede

Conductor Daniel Barenboim, mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato and composer Harrison Birtwistle were among those honored at the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards in London last night. Daniel Barenboim received the award for his complete Ring at the BBC Proms last year, Joyce DiDonato for her interpretation of Rossini. Composers Harrison Birtwistle and George Benjamin received awards for their compositions ‘The Moth Requiem’ and ‘Written On Skin’. Violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja got the instrumentalist award, Igor Levit the young artist prize. The London Philharmonic was honored as ensemble of he year.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives