The Avery Fisher Artist Program today announced the recipients of its career grants. The honoured musicians are double bassist Xavier Foley, Spanish violinist Francisco Fullana, pianist Drew Petersen and the Calidore String Quartet.

A native of the Spanish Balearic island of Mallorca, Francisco Fullana performs in the U.SA. in Europe and in Asia.

Xavier Foley was First Prize winner of the 2014 Sphinx Competition, the Young Concert Artists Auditions 2016, and a winner of the Astral Artists National Auditions 2014.

Pianist Drew Petersen is the winner of the 2017 American Pianists Awards and the Christel DeHaan Fellowship of the American Pianists Association, and has been named Artist-in-Residence for two years by the University of Indianapolis, commencing in the fall of 2017.

In 2016, the Calidore String Quartet became the first North American ensemble to win the Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives