The Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition takes place from today on until June 9 at Fort Worth’s Bass Performance Hall. 30 competitors hail from all over the world, representing 13 countries: the United States (7), Italy (6), Russia (5), China (3), Ukraine (2), Australia, Chile, France, Japan, South Korea, Poland, Taiwan, and the United Kingdom. They range in age from 19 to 30. They perform before a Jury comprising Chairman John Giordano (United States), Dmitri Alexeev (Russia), Michel Béroff (France), Andrea Bonatta (Italy), Richard Dyer (United States), Joseph Kalichstein (Israel), Yoheved Kaplinsky (Israel), Liu Shih Kun (China), Minoru Nojima (Japan), Menahem Pressler (United States), Blanca Uribe (Colombia), Arie Vardi (Israel), and Xian Zhang (China).

Van Cliburn, the Competition’s inspiration and namesake, passed away on February 27, 2013. The Fourteenth Competition will be dedicated to Mr. Cliburn, as a tribute to his devotion to young artists, and his belief in the transformative powers of music.

Continuing its longstanding commitment to new music, the Cliburn has selected composer Christopher Theofanidisto write the commissioned work that will be performed by all competitors during the Semifinal Round. Additionally, the competition has been dedicated to showcasing both the extraordinary talent of its competitors in recital performance as well as their ability to collaborate with other musicians.

The Fourteenth Competition will mark the first Cliburn appearance by the world-renowned Brentano String Quartet performing a piano quintet with each of the 12 semifinalists.

The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, which has appeared at every Cliburn Competition, will perform two concerti with each of the six finalists, under the baton of Maestro Leonard Slatkin for the first time.

The performance order will be as follows:

01 Claire Huangci, 23, United States

02 Scipione Sangiovanni, 25, Italy

03 Beatrice Rana, 20, Italy

04 Steven Lin, 24, United States

05 Marcin Koziak, 24, Poland

06 Alex McDonald, 30, United States

07 Nikita Mndoyants, 24, Russia

08 Luca Buratto, 20, Italy

09 Giuseppe Greco, 23, Italy

10 Oleksandr Poliykov, 25, Ukraine

11 Kuan-Ting Lin, 21, Taiwan

12 Nikita Abrosimov, 24, Russia

13 Tomoki Sakata, 19, Japan

14 Lindsay Garritson, 25, United States

15 Vadym Kholodenko, 26, Ukraine

16 Alessandro Taverna, 29, Italy

17 Nikolay Khozyainov, 20, Russia

18 Alessandro Deljavan, 26, Italy

19 Jayson Gillham, 26, Australia

20 Eric Zuber, 28, United States

21 Alexey Chernov, 30, Russia

22 Yekwon Sunwoo, 24, South Korea

23 Sean Chen, 24, United States

24 Fei-Fei Dong, 22, China

25 Sara Daneshpour, 26, United States

26 Gustavo Miranda-Bernales, 22, Chile

27 Jie Yuan, 27, China

28 François Dumont, 27, France

29 Ruoyu Huang, 24, China

30 Yury Favorin, 26, Russia

Additional information:

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives