(c) Krzysztoi Krzeminski

The Award Ceremony 2018 of ICMA (International Classical Music Awards) will be hosted by the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in Katowice and take place on April 6 in the orchestra’s concert hall. The program of the Gala concert will feature several winners of ICMA.

It will start with the first movement, Indoafrica, of Avner Dorman’s Percussion Concerto Frozen in Time, played by the Young Artist of the Year, Christoph Sietzen. Representing ICMA’s Label of the Year, the Belcea Quartet will perform Janacek’s String Quartet No. 1, Kreutzer Sonata.

Manfred Honeck, Artist of the Year, will conduct Rusalka-Fantasy by Dvorak arranged by Thomas Ille.

NOSPR Katowice
(c) Sammy Hart

Szymon Nehring, Outstanding Young Polish Artist, will play Lutoslawski’s Variations on a theme by Paganini. A winner in the Baroque Instrumental category, recorder player Stefan Temmingh will be the soloist in Telemann’s Concerto TWV 51:C1. 16-year-old Yuan Yu will play Nielsen’s Flute Concerto and Alexander Liebreich will end the concert with Karol Szymanowski’s Concert Overture, Op. 12.

The Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra in Katowice (NOSPR), was founded in 1935 in Warsaw and led by Grzegorz Fitelberg until the outbreak of World War II. In March 1945, Witold Rowicki revived the orchestra in Katowice. In 1947, upon his return from the United States, Grzegorz Fitelberg took over the post of the Artistic Director. After his death in 1953, the orchestra was directed by such conductors as Jan Krenz, Kazimierz Kord, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Jacek Kaspszyk, Antoni Wit and Gabriel Chmura. At the beginning of the season 2012/13, Alexander Liebreich became the Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the NOSPR.

  • Pizzicato

  • Archives